Thingvellir commission


The national park at Thingvellir shall be subject to the management of the Thingvellir Commission.

The Althing shall, at the start of each election term]elect seven Members of Parliament to the Thingvellir Commission and an equal number of alternate members. Their mandate shall remain in effect until a new Commission has been elected. The Minister shall appoint a chairman and vice-chairman from among the principal members; in other respects the Commission itself shall allocate tasks among its members. The Ministry is the supreme authority in matters relating to the national park at Thingvellir; this includes powers of decision regarding administrative complaints relating to decisions made by the Thingvellir Commission.

Present Committee members are:

from  8. February 2018 :

Chair man
Ari Traustason

1st  Vice-Chairman
Vilhjálmur Árnason

Oddný G. Harðardóttir, Páll Magnússon, Karl Gauti Hjaltason, Hanna Katrín Friðriksson, Líneik Anna Sævarsdóttir.


Njáll Trausti Friðbertsson, Guðmundur Andri Thorsson, Bryndís Haraldsdóttir, Guðmundur Ingi Kristinsson, Lilja Rafney Magnúsdóttir, Jón Steindór Valdimarsson, Silja Dögg Gunnarsdóttir.

Safe travel in Iceland
Travellers should prepare well for each trip and know its trail and route conditions.
The THING Project
The THING Project is based on the Thing sites that are the assembly sites spread across North West Europe as a result of the Viking diaspora and Norse settlements.
World heritage
Thingvellir was accepted on the World Heritage list for its cultural values in 2004 at World Heritage Committee meeting in China.
Protection and management
Thingvellir National Park was designated by a special law on the protection of the area, passed by the Alþing on 7th May, 1928.